What are the provisions of Wildlife Protection Act?

What are the provisions under Wildlife Protection Act 1972?


Act ID: 197253
Act Year: 1972
Short Title: The Wild Life (Protection) Act, 1972
Long Title: An Act to provide for the protection of wild animals, birds and plants and for matters connected therewith or ancillary or incidental thereto with a view to ensuring the ecological and environmental security of the country.

What are the legal provisions for wildlife protection?

These include Indian Penal Code, 1960; Code of Criminal Procedure, 1974; Indian Forest Act, 1927; Customs Act, 1962; Forest (Conservation) Act, 1981, Environment (Protection) Act, 1986, Prevention of Cruelty to Animal Act, 1960, The Biological Diversity Act, 2002 and Arms Act, 1959 which also has provisions related to …

IT IS AMAZING:  Why should we be concerned with consulting stakeholders in the process of undertaking an environmental impact assessment?

What are the provisions in Wildlife Protection Act 1972 pertaining to an area as a national park and sanctuary which activities may be permitted or prohibited in such areas?

It says that: The state government grants or transfers any area under its control. The central government, if satisfied with the conditions of the specified area, can declare it as a sanctuary or a national park by the notification.

What are the provisions in Wildlife Protection Act 1972 pertaining to an area as a national park and sanctuary?

(1) Whenever it appears to the State Government that an area, whether within a sanctuary or not, is, by reason of its ecological, faunal, floral, geomorphological or zoological association or importance, needed to be constituted as a National Park for the purpose of protecting, propagating or developing wild life …

What are the 6 schedule of Wildlife Protection Act 1972?

The specified endemic plants in Schedule VI are prohibited from cultivation and planting. The hunting to the Enforcement authorities have the power to compound offences under this Schedule (i.e. they impose fines on the offenders).

Wild Life (Protection) Act, 1972.

The Wild Life (Protection) Act, 1972
Enacted 9 September 1972
Status: In force

What are the 6 schedules of wildlife protection?

The Wildlife (Protection) Act, 1972 has divided the protection status of various plants and animals under the following six schedules:

  • Schedule I: It covers endangered species that need rigorous protection. …
  • Schedule II: …
  • Schedule III & IV: …
  • Schedule V: …
  • Schedule VI:

What provisions are laid down in the Wild Life Protection Act with regard to national park?

Wildlife (protection) Act 1972 – An overview

IT IS AMAZING:  What do environmental ethics deal with?

This Act was enacted to provide protection to listed species of flora and fauna in the Act and establish a…

What are the objectives of Wildlife Protection Act when was Wildlife Protection Act implemented write its?

The Indian Wildlife Protection Act was implemented in 1972. The main objective of this act is that to protect wild plants and wild animals. According to the Indian Wildlife protection act, the hunting and harming of wild animals are strictly prohibited.

How many sections are there in Wildlife Protection Act 1972?

This Act contains 66 Sections which are further divided into seven chapters and six schedules.

What is a protected area under the Wildlife Protection Act?

Protected Area (PA) has been defined in the Wildlife (Protection) Act, 1972. Section 2(24A) says: “Protected Area” means a National Park, Sanctuary, Conservation / Community Reserve. … A Tiger Reserve on the other hand is notified under Chapter IV B titled “National Tiger Conservation Authority”.

Who can declare an area as sanctuary as per the provisions of Wild Life Protection Act?

Sanctuaries or National Parks declared by Central Government 38. Power of Central Government to declare areas as sanctuaries or National Parks.