How many agro climates are there?

The National Bureau of Soil Survey & Land Use Planning (NBSS&LUP) came up with twenty agro-ecological zones based on the growing period as an integrated criteria of effective rainfall, soil groups, delineated boundaries adjusted to district boundaries with a minimal number of regions.

How many agro-climatic zones are there?

The Planning Commission has categorised 15 agro-climatic zones in India, taking into account the physical attributes and socio-economic conditions prevailing in the regions.

What are the different types of agro-climatic regions?

Agro-Climatic Zones

  • Western Himalayan division.
  • Eastern Himalayan division.
  • Lower Gangetic plain region.
  • Middle Gangetic plain region.
  • Upper Gangetic plain region.
  • Trans-Gangetic plain region.
  • Eastern plateau and hill region.
  • Central plateau and hill region.

What are the 9 climates?


  • POLAR AND TUNDRA. Polar climates are cold and dry, with long, dark winters. …
  • DESERT. …

How many agro climate zones are in India?

Planning Commission has demarcated the geographical area of India into 15 agro-climatic regions. These are further divided into more homogeneous 72 sub-zones.

IT IS AMAZING:  Is environmental scientist a good career?

What are the 5 climate zones?

There are approximately five main climate types on Earth:

  • Tropical.
  • Dry.
  • Temperate.
  • Continental.
  • Polar.

How many agro climatic zones are there in Rajasthan?

The State of Rajasthan falls in the three Agro-climatic Zones i.e. Zone–VI -Trans-Gangetic Plains region, Zone–VIII-Central Plateau and Hills region and Zone–XIV- Western Dry region.

How many agro climatic zones are there in Maharashtra?

Maharashtra has been divided in to nine agro climatic zones on the basis of annual rainfall soil types, vegetation and cropaing pattern (Table. 1).

How many agro climatic zones are there in West Bengal?

Based on soil characterization, rainfall, temperature and terrain, six main agro-climatic zones in West Bengal have been identified (Fig. 1). These are: (i) Hill Zone, (ü) Terai Zone, (iii) Old Alluvial Zone, (iv) New Alluvial Zone, (v) Red and Laterite Zone & (vi) Coastal and Saline Zone.

How many agro climatic zones are there in Jammu and Kashmir?

Jammu region comprises of two major agro-climatic zones viz. low altitude subtropical zone and mid to high intermediate zone. The zone is characterized by monsoon, concentration of precipitation, hot spell of summer, relatively dry but pronounced winter and preponderance of alluvial soils.

What are the 13 climates?

In this system there are five major climate zones that are divided into 13 sub-zones, which themselves can again be split into finer groups.

These are:

  • Winter dry (temperate climate)
  • Winter dry (continental climate)
  • Summer dry (continental climate)
  • Continuously wet (continental climate)
  • Polar ice caps (polar climate)

What are the 6 types of climates?

There are six main climate regions: tropical rainy, dry, temperate marine, temperate continental, polar, and highlands. The tropics have two types of rainy climates: tropical wet and tropical wet-and- dry.

IT IS AMAZING:  What are three things that make an ecosystem?

What does Itcz stand for?

The Intertropical Convergence Zone, or ITCZ, is the region that circles the Earth, near the equator, where the trade winds of the Northern and Southern Hemispheres come together.